Art without borders
Zürich | Lugano | Basel | Genève | Bern
29th March – 11th June 2017
big

DisAbility on Stage

Building bridges between research, theatre and dance practices and training

The stage lab DisAbility on Stage is a pilot project which aims to promote the participation of people with a disability in dance and theatre training in Switzerland. The focus lies on two model collaborations: the Masters in Movement Theatre at the Accademia Teatro Dimitri in Verscio, in collaboration with the dance company Teatro Danzabile from Ticino (Stage Lab 1), and the Bachelors degree in Contemporary Dance at Zurich University of the Arts, in collaboration with BewegGrund in Berne and Danzabile in Ticino (Stage Lab 2). The aim is to develop skills at the crossroads between training practices, the theatre and dance scene, presenting productions by and with people with a disability as well as practice-based research at arts universities.

After that, the artistic and academic results will be shared with a wider audience within the festivals under the umbrella of IntegrART.

The stage lab is linked to the three-year research project DisAbility on Stage (2015–2018) hosted by the Institute for the Performing Arts and Film (IPF) of Zurich University for the Arts, which started in September 2015 with the support of the Swiss National Science Foundation. The aim is to get the discussion about disability started at art schools and universities throughout Switzerland and to then apply the research results to the practice.

Three studies are at the heart of the project:

  • the study Disabled Bodies in Discourse at the Accademia Teatro Dimitri which will be looking at the connecting points between Physical Theatre and theatre by and with performers with a disability. Questions about training and authorship of the performers with a disability will be explored through practice-based research workshops put in place in cooperation with Teatro Danzabile.
  • The project Inszenierungsprozesse im Theater von und mit geistig behinderten Akteur_innen at Zurich University of the Arts and the University of Basel is connected to the theatre experiment Freie Republik HORA. As part of a long-term performance project in three phases, the members of the Zurich-based company Theater HORA are directing a piece for the first time. This process is being observed from three different perspectives: from an artistic point of view, as part of theatre research and from a video-ethnographic point of view.
  • The dissertation project and the third part of the study entitled Disabled Theater – Der Beginn von Akzentverschiebungen in der Rezeption at Berne University will focus on the perception by the public and the media of theatre productions with and by performers with a disability. 

The stage labs which include dancers and performers with and without disabilites will enable the transfer and the developement of research results in a training context.

More information available on the blog.

 

Credits stage labs:

Organisers:

Institute for the Performing Arts and Film and BA Contemporary Dance, ZHdK; Accademia Teatro Dimitri, Verscio; Teatro Danzabile; BewegGrund

Project Leader:

Dr. Yvonne Schmidt, Institute for the Performing Arts and Film, ZHdK

Verscio:

Artistic Director: Emanuel Rosenberg Performers: Felix Baumann, Sara Bocchini, Stefanie Bolzli, Angela Calia, Adriano Cangemi, Laura Coda Cantù, Elisa Di Cristofaro, Mirjami Heikkinen, Guglielmo Hug, Aida Illic, Miriam Kotlaris, Pierre Lepori, Joelle Petrini, Andres Santos, Morgan Wilson, Daniele Zanella Research Team: Sara Bocchini, Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Demis Quadri

Zurich:

Artistic Director: Emanuel Gat Coaching: Emanuel Rosenberg, Susanne Schneider Dancers: Sophie Annen, Jay Ariës, Sophie Bertschy, Emmy Blein, Giorgia D'Amico, Alice D'Angelo, Giorgia Lolli, Gina Andrea Maag, Selene Martello, Viktorija Semakaité, Antonio Spatuzzi, Dario Theiler, Elisa Scarselli, Joelle Petrini, Miriam Kotlaris, Laura Coda Cantù, Giuseppe Comuniello, Sylvie Chen, Lua Leirner Research Team: Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Yvonne Schmidt

Funding:

Swiss National Science Foundation; Eidgenössisches Büro für die Gleichstellung von Menschen mit Behinderungen EBGB; Corymbo Stiftung; Oertli Stiftung; Fachstelle Gleichstellung & Diversity, Zurich University of the Arts

Practice partner:

IntegrART, a Migros Culture Percentage networking project

Kunst kennt keine Grenzen
Zürich | Lugano | Basel | Genève | Bern
29. März – 11. Juni 2017
big

DisAbility on Stage

Brückenschlag zwischen Forschung, Theater- und Tanzpraxis und Ausbildung

Das Bühnenlabor DisAbility on Stage versteht sich als ein Pilotprojekt, um die Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderungen an der Tanz- und Theaterausbildung in der Schweiz zu fördern. Im Fokus stehen zwei modellhafte Zusammenarbeiten. Einerseits im Master Bewegungstheater an der Accademia Teatro Dimitri in Verscio zusammen mit der Tanzkompanie Teatro Danzabile im Tessin (Bühnenlabor 1) und andererseits im Bachelorstudiengang Contemporary Dance der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste in Kooperation mit BewegGrund in Bern und Danzabile im Tessin (Bühnenlabor 2). Das Ziel ist die gemeinsame Entwicklung von Knowhow an den Schnittstellen zwischen Ausbildungspraxis, der Theater- und Tanzszene von und mit Menschen mit einer Behinderung sowie praxisorientierter Forschung an der Kunsthochschule.

Im Rahmen der Festivals unter dem Dach von IntegrART finden öffentliche Präsentationen und somit die Vermittlung der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse an eine breite Öffentlichkeit statt.

Das Bühnenlabor ist an das im September 2015 gestartete dreijährige Forschungsprojekt DisAbility on Stage (2015-2018) am Institute for the Performing Arts and Film (IPF) der ZHdK gekoppelt, welches vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) gefördert wird. Ziel ist es, einen Diskurs um Behinderung an den Kunsthochschulen und Universitäten in der Schweiz zu initiieren, und die daraus resultierenden Forschungserkenntnisse in die Praxis zu übertragen.

Drei Studien stehen dabei im Fokus:

  • Die Studie Disabled Bodies in Discourse an der Accademia Teatro Dimitri untersucht die Schnittstellen zwischen Physical Theatre sowie Theater von und mit Darsteller/-innen mit Behinderung. Fragen des Trainings und der Autorschaft von Darsteller/-innen mit Behinderung bilden den Kern der Untersuchung und werden mittels eines Practice-based Research Workshops in Kooperation mit Teatro Danzabile vertieft.
  • Das Teilprojekt Inszenierungsprozesse im Theater von und mit geistig behinderten Akteur_innen an der ZHdK und der Universität Basel ist an das Theaterexperiment Freie Republik HORA geknüpft. Im Rahmen des mehrstufigen Langzeit-Performanceprojekts führen Ensemblemitglieder des Zürcher Theater HORA erstmals auch Regie. Dieser Prozess wird aus künstlerischer, theaterwissenschaftlicher und videoethnographischer Perspektive untersucht.
  • Im Fokus des Doktoratsprojektes und somit der dritten Teilstudie mit dem Titel Disabled Theater – Der Beginn von Akzentverschiebungen in der Rezeption an der Universität Bern steht die Wahrnehmung von Theater von und mit Darstellerinnen und Darstellern mit Behinderung durch das Publikum und in den Medien.

Die Bühnenlabore mit Tänzerinnen und Tänzern sowie Performerinnen und Performern mit und ohne Behinderungen ermöglichen den Transfer und die Weiterentwicklung der Forschungsresultate im Ausbildungskontext.

Nähere Informationen befinden sich auf dem Blog.

 

Credits Bühnenlabore:

Veranstalter:

Institute for the Performing Arts and Film u. BA Contemporary Dance, ZHdK; Accademia Teatro Dimitri, Verscio; Teatro Danzabile; BewegGrund

Projektleitung:

Dr. Yvonne Schmidt, Institute for the Performing Arts and Film, ZHdK

Verscio:

Künstlerische Leitung: Emanuel Rosenberg Performer/-innen: Felix Baumann, Sara Bocchini, Stefanie Bolzli, Angela Calia, Adriano Cangemi, Laura Coda Cantù, Elisa Di Cristofaro, Mirjami Heikkinen, Guglielmo Hug, Aida Illic, Miriam Kotlaris, Pierre Lepori, Joelle Petrini, Andres Santos, Morgan Wilson, Daniele Zanella Forschungsteam: Sara Bocchini, Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Demis Quadri

Zürich:

Künstlerische Leitung: Emanuel Gat Coaching: Emanuel Rosenberg, Susanne Schneider Tänzer/-innen: Sophie Annen, Jay Ariës, Sophie Bertschy, Emmy Blein, Giorgia D'Amico, Alice D'Angelo, Giorgia Lolli, Gina Andrea Maag, Selene Martello, Viktorija Semakaité, Antonio Spatuzzi, Dario Theiler, Elisa Scarselli, Joelle Petrini, Miriam Kotlaris, Laura Coda Cantù, Giuseppe Comuniello, Sylvie Chen, Lua Leirner Forschungsteam: Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Yvonne Schmidt

Förderung:

Schweizerischer Nationalfonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung; Eidgenössisches Büro für die Gleichstellung von Menschen mit Behinderungen EBGB; Corymbo Stiftung; Oertli Stiftung; Fachstelle Gleichstellung & Diversity, ZHdK

Praxispartner:

IntegrART, ein Netzwerkprojekt des Migros-Kulturprozent