Art without borders
Zürich | Lugano | Basel | Genève | Bern
29th March – 11th June 2017
big

DisAbility on Stage

Building bridges between research, theatre and dance practices and training

The stage lab DisAbility on Stage is a pilot project which aims to promote the participation of people with a disability in dance and theatre training in Switzerland. The focus lies on two model collaborations: the Masters in Movement Theatre at the Accademia Teatro Dimitri in Verscio, in collaboration with the dance company Teatro Danzabile from Ticino (Stage Lab 1), and the Bachelors degree in Contemporary Dance at Zurich University of the Arts, in collaboration with BewegGrund in Berne and Danzabile in Ticino (Stage Lab 2). The aim is to develop skills at the crossroads between training practices, the theatre and dance scene, presenting productions by and with people with a disability as well as practice-based research at arts universities.

After that, the artistic and academic results will be shared with a wider audience within the festivals under the umbrella of IntegrART.

The stage lab is linked to the three-year research project DisAbility on Stage (2015–2018) hosted by the Institute for the Performing Arts and Film (IPF) of Zurich University for the Arts, which started in September 2015 with the support of the Swiss National Science Foundation. The aim is to get the discussion about disability started at art schools and universities throughout Switzerland and to then apply the research results to the practice.

Three studies are at the heart of the project:

  • the study Disabled Bodies in Discourse at the Accademia Teatro Dimitri which will be looking at the connecting points between Physical Theatre and theatre by and with performers with a disability. Questions about training and authorship of the performers with a disability will be explored through practice-based research workshops put in place in cooperation with Teatro Danzabile.
  • The project Inszenierungsprozesse im Theater von und mit geistig behinderten Akteur_innen at Zurich University of the Arts and the University of Basel is connected to the theatre experiment Freie Republik HORA. As part of a long-term performance project in three phases, the members of the Zurich-based company Theater HORA are directing a piece for the first time. This process is being observed from three different perspectives: from an artistic point of view, as part of theatre research and from a video-ethnographic point of view.
  • The dissertation project and the third part of the study entitled Disabled Theater – Der Beginn von Akzentverschiebungen in der Rezeption at Berne University will focus on the perception by the public and the media of theatre productions with and by performers with a disability. 

The stage labs which include dancers and performers with and without disabilites will enable the transfer and the developement of research results in a training context.

More information available on the blog.

 

Credits stage labs:

Organisers:

Institute for the Performing Arts and Film and BA Contemporary Dance, ZHdK; Accademia Teatro Dimitri, Verscio; Teatro Danzabile; BewegGrund

Project Leader:

Dr. Yvonne Schmidt, Institute for the Performing Arts and Film, ZHdK

Verscio:

Artistic Director: Emanuel Rosenberg Performers: Felix Baumann, Sara Bocchini, Stefanie Bolzli, Angela Calia, Adriano Cangemi, Laura Coda Cantù, Elisa Di Cristofaro, Mirjami Heikkinen, Guglielmo Hug, Aida Illic, Miriam Kotlaris, Pierre Lepori, Joelle Petrini, Andres Santos, Morgan Wilson, Daniele Zanella Research Team: Sara Bocchini, Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Demis Quadri

Zurich:

Artistic Director: Emanuel Gat Coaching: Emanuel Rosenberg, Susanne Schneider Dancers: Sophie Annen, Jay Ariës, Sophie Bertschy, Emmy Blein, Giorgia D'Amico, Alice D'Angelo, Giorgia Lolli, Gina Andrea Maag, Selene Martello, Viktorija Semakaité, Antonio Spatuzzi, Dario Theiler, Elisa Scarselli, Joelle Petrini, Miriam Kotlaris, Laura Coda Cantù, Giuseppe Comuniello, Sylvie Chen, Lua Leirner Research Team: Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Yvonne Schmidt

Funding:

Swiss National Science Foundation; Eidgenössisches Büro für die Gleichstellung von Menschen mit Behinderungen EBGB; Corymbo Stiftung; Oertli Stiftung; Fachstelle Gleichstellung & Diversity, Zurich University of the Arts

Practice partner:

IntegrART, a Migros Culture Percentage networking project

L’art ne connaît pas de frontières
Zürich | Lugano | Basel | Genève | Bern
29. Mars – 11. Juin 2017
big

DisAbility on Stage

Créer des passerelles entre la recherche, la formation et la pratique du théâtre et de la danse

L’espace d’expérimentation théâtrale DisAbility on Stage est un projet pilote, qui vise à promouvoir la participation de personnes en situation de handicap dans le cadre des formations de danse et de théâtre en Suisse. Deux projets modèles sont au cœur de cette entreprise: d’une part le master de Théâtre en Mouvement de l’Accademia Teatro Dimitri à Verscio en coopération avec la compagnie de danse tessinoise Teatro Danzabile (Stage Lab 1), d'autre part le bachelor en Contemporary Dance de la Haute Ecole d’art de Zurich en coopération avec BewegGrund à Berne et Danzabile au Tessin (Stage Lab 2). L’objectif est de développer conjointement un savoir-faire qui serve de passerelle entre les pratiques de formation, la scène culturelle qui présente des productions de théâtre et de danse conçues ou interprétées par des personnes en situation de handicap ainsi que la recherche axée sur la pratique à la Haute Ecole d’art.

Les résultats artistiques et scientifiques seront ensuite présentés à un public plus large dans le cadre des festivals en partenariat avec IntegrART.

Ce projet d’expérimentation théâtrale est rattaché au projet de recherche DisAbility on Stage, lancé en septembre 2015 et qui s’étend sur trois années. Il dépend de l’Institut pour les Arts du Spectacle et le Cinéma (IPF) de la Haute Ecole d’art de Zurich et est soutenu par le Fonds National Suisse pour la Science. L’objectif est de lancer le dialogue autour du handicap dans les écoles d’art et les universités à travers la Suisse et de transposer les résultats de la recherche à la pratique.

Trois études sont au cœur du projet:

  • l’étude Disabled Bodies in Discourse de l’Accademia Teatro Dimitri examine les points communs entre le «physical theatre» et le théâtre réalisé avec et par des personnes en situation de handicap. Les questions concernant la formation et le statut d’auteur des artistes en situation de handicap sera au centre de ce projet de recherche. Elles seront abordées au travers d’ateliers orientés sur la pratique en coopération avec Teatro Danzabile.
  • Le projet Inszenierungsprozesse im Theater von und mit geistig behinderten Akteur_innen en partenariat avec la Haute Ecole d’art de Zurich et l’université de Bâle s’effectue en collaboration avec l’expérience théâtrale Freie Republik HORA. Dans le cadre d’un projet de performance en plusieurs phases, les membres de la compagnie zurichoise Theater HORA réalisent pour la première fois leur propre mise en scène. Ce processus est examiné sous un angle artistique, du point de vue de la recherche théâtrale et d’une perspesctive vidéo-ethnographique.
  • La troisième étude est un projet de doctorat à l’Université de Berne qui a pour titre Disabled Theater – Der Beginn von Akzentverschiebungen in der Rezeption et qui analyse comment le public et les médias perçoivent une pièce de théâtre conçue ou interprétée par des personnes en situation de handicap.

Les expérimentations théâtrales se feront avec des danseurs/-euses et des performeurs/-euses en situation de handicap ou non et permettront le transfert et le développement des résultats dans le cadre de la formation.

Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur le blog.

 

Crédits:

Organisateurs:

Institute for the Performing Arts and Film et BA Contemporary Dance, ZHdK; Accademia Teatro Dimitri, Verscio; Teatro Danzabile; BewegGrund

Responsable de projet:

Dr. Yvonne Schmidt, Institute for the Performing Arts and Film, ZHdK

Verscio:

Direction artistique: Emanuel Rosenberg Performeurs et performeuses: Felix Baumann, Sara Bocchini, Stefanie Bolzli, Angela Calia, Adriano Cangemi, Laura Coda Cantù, Elisa Di Cristofaro, Mirjami Heikkinen, Guglielmo Hug, Aida Illic, Miriam Kotlaris, Pierre Lepori, Joelle Petrini, Andres Santos, Morgan Wilson, Daniele Zanella Equipe de recherche: Sara Bocchini, Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Demis Quadri

Zurich:

Direction artistique: Emanuel Gat Coaching: Emanuel Rosenberg, Susanne Schneider Danseurs et danseuses: Sophie Annen, Jay Ariës, Sophie Bertschy, Emmy Blein, Giorgia D'Amico, Alice D'Angelo, Giorgia Lolli, Gina Andrea Maag, Selene Martello, Viktorija Semakaité, Antonio Spatuzzi, Dario Theiler, Elisa Scarselli, Joelle Petrini, Miriam Kotlaris, Laura Coda Cantù, Giuseppe Comuniello, Sylvie Chen, Lua Leirner Equipe de recherche: Sarah Marinucci, Dr. Yvonne Schmidt

Soutien:

Fonds National Suisse de la Recherche Scientifique; Bureau fédéral de l’égalité pour les personnes handicapées BFEH; Fondation Corymbo; Fondation Oertli; Fachstelle Gleichstellung & Diversity, ZHdK

Partenaire:

IntegrART, un projet de réseau du Pour-cent culturel Migros