Programme

Tuesday, 21st september 2021, Gessnerallee Zürich 

The conference has a hybrid (analog and digital) programme. Registration

Title Time Programme
Arrival 14.30 Arrival at Gessnerallee Zürich

Welcome

15.00

Dr Silvia Steiner, President of the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK)  
Kerstin Klauser, Head of Culture, Directorate of Cultural and Social Affairs, Federation of Migros Cooperatives
Isabella Spirig, Dance project manager, Directorate of Cultural and Social Affairs, Federation of Migros Cooperatives
Dr. Nina Mühlemann, Head of IntegrART conference 2021

Lecture Performance

15.30

«Staging self and other»
Perel (US/DE)

Perel's work interrogates the place disability holds in history and our collective memory, or power dynamics around gender and consent. After deconstructing them, what possibilities emerge of actually being together? What would supportive structures actually look like?

Perel will give examples from their work where they challenge existing performance structures and and power dynamics, such as in «More Than Just A Piece of Sky» (2014), where they performed from a glowing bed, in «(do not) despair solo and Pain Threshold» (2016-present) where they engage the practice of inviting nondisabled audience members to perform «care work» for them with varying degrees of erotics and intimacy, and in their most recent work, «Life (Un)Worthy of Life» (2019-present) where they deconstruct the Talkshow format, inviting the audience into a discussion of historic ableism and anti-semitism. 

Break 16.40  

Panel Discussion

17.10

«Rethinking structures»
Perspectives performers: Sophia Neises (DE), Alexandrina Hemsley (UK), Edwin Ramirez (CH), Diana Anselmo (IT), Perspectives Institutions: Michelle Akanji & Inga Laas, Gessnerallee Zürich (CH)

Four different disabled artists discuss how they create new structures within their work, and how they can be reconciled with the conditions given by cultural institutions, funding bodies and politics – or not. What would disabled artists actually need for inclusion, what work needs to be done to get there, and by whom? And how can working conditions be created which make space for intersectional experiences? What potential is opening up when different voices and experiences are centered and we break away from existing power structures?

Break 18.30  

Performance

20.00

«Sketch of Togetherness»
Lea Moro (CH), Nina Mühlemann (CH)
With «Sketch of Togetherness», an artistic work is created specifically for the IntegrART conference. A politician and a disabled artist spend a day together, joined by a camera. At the conference they meet again – this time in front of an audience.

 

Wednesday, 22nd september 2021, Gessnerallee Zürich

Title Time Progamme
Arrival 9.30  
Keynote 10.00

«Complicated Utopias»
Noa Winter (DE) und Alexandrina Hemsley (UK)

Join curator and activist Noa Winter and choreographer and writer Alexandrina Hemsley in their IntergrART keynote where they sift their way through the hope, love and rage of advocacy. They will each share why  they create care-based spaces, try to insist on cultural institutions moving beyond performative inclusion or solidarity and chase what they know in their bodies; a refusal and an opening.

There will be poetry, typical rants and moments to acknowledge when the work becomes too much, when structural oppression exhausts, when their hearts break and when working as a disabled person with other intersecting identities becomes about enduring the realities made by those with more power.

How to exist more safely in systems which are not made by or for disabled people? Are cultural institutions prepared to realise that care and accountability are as important as representation?

Break 11.00  

Panel Discussion

11.20

«Creative perspectives and political structures»
Performers (CH): Lulzim Plakoli, Edwin Ramirez, Lua Leirner and politicians: Isabel Garcia (GP), Islam Alijaj (ES), moderation: Alex Oberholzer

Four different disabled artists discuss how they create new structures within their work, and how they can be reconciled with the conditions given by cultural institutions, funding bodies and politics – or not. What would disabled artists actually need for inclusion, what work needs to be done to get there, and by whom? And how can working conditions be created which make space for intersectional experiences? What potential is opening up when different voices and experiences are centered and we break away from existing power structures?

Lunch 12.30  

Keynote

14.00

«In an arts funding system that is inherently ableist, how can disabled artists not just survive, but thrive?» 
Jo Verrent (UK), Unlimited, Rebekka Fässler (Stadt Zürich Kultur)

Jo Verrent is senior producer for Unlimited. Unlimited is an arts commissioning programme that aims to embed work by disabled artists within the UK and international cultural sectors, reach new audiences and shift perceptions of disabled people. Working across all artforms, sizes, scales and audiences, Unlimited has set out to prove that the skills and talents of disabled artists are, indeed, unlimited, and that there is no part of the cultural sector which should not have disabled artists embedded within in. Jo will explain how and why funders invest within Unlimited and in turn, how it operates as a funder of disabled artists. She will outline why radical systemic change throughout the whole ecology of the funding is the only long term option for true equality and equity. Gaining funding based on the inherent aesthetic benefits of disabled-led art, rather than using the negative charity ‘pity me’ model for gaining disability related funds, can be a challenge, but an essential one. Deficit-focused fundraising leads to enforcing a dominant view of ‘disabled as deficit’ which is not only untrue, but also inherently damaging to the sector as a whole, as it denies the benefit disabled artists bring to the developments of artform, widening of audiences and much, much more. So how to turn that view? After Jo Verrent's input, she will be in conversation with Rebekka Fässler.

Break 14.45  

Workshops

15.00

At four workshops, conference attendees can get familiar with the conference topic
«Rethinking structures»  

Workshop 1: Tanja Erhart / Katharina Senk (AT) «Senses and Sensuality as part of digital collaboration» / ONLINE

Tanja Erhart and Katharina Senk invite to a digital workshop, in which they make their artistic practice of digital collaboration, access and care as well as multilingualism experienceable. How can collaboration over the screen open up different and new ways for us to see each other, listen to each other, perceive each other and communicate with each other? Through their multisensory work they explore senses and sensuality as tools that create access towards each other and allows their confrontations with the ableist world to transform. Workshop in english and german

Workshop 2: Dalibor Šandor / Saša Asenti? (SRB) / ONLINE

What makes a monster?
What or who is a monster?
What kind of monsters exist around us?

The workshop will be based on conversation, movement and imagination exercises that come from Dalibor Šandor’s experience and motivation of making his performances: “We are not monsters” and “Something very special”. Dalibor Šandor will be accompanied with his long-time friend, colleague and comrade Saša Asenti?. They will conduct the workshop in English language.


Workshop 3: Islam Alijaj / Lea Moro (CH): «Initiating Encounters» / ON SITE

This project, based on the «Sketch of Togetherness» project, is co-led by Islam Alijai and Lea Moro. We explore the options for getting to know each other and for encounters between two people who are unknown to each other, but also as a temporary workshop group. The various personal encounters offer insights into different realities of life and day-to-day existence as well as professional worlds, individual biographies and differing cultural, political and social contexts. Last but not least, each encounter with a stranger also enables one to gain new perspectives on oneself, as it always raises questions about one’s own life reality. This workshop seeks to enable the perspectives of meeting, talking and interacting with each other in an inquisitive, open and playful, creative way.

Workshop 4: Alessandro Schiattarella / Alice Giuliani: «The Army of Love» / ON SITE
We know that the topic of rethinking structures is a vast one, and in order to approach it within the framework of IntegrART, we at «The Army of Love» would like to do so from the point of view of «micro-awareness»: what are the structures in our gestures, our movements, our language, our interaction with others that slip into a grey area due to daily repetition? How do we tighten the net of our attention and de-automate our everyday life so that we can detect the hidden patterns? The theme of rethinking structures also points to a need for flexibility: what do we need in order not to solidify in our articulations, in our thoughts, in our interactions with others? The workshop will start with a series of playful exercises, alone or in pairs, which will gradually develop into group exercises. Respecting in all phases the current anti-covid measures. In our repertoire we often use speech, movement, physical contact and interaction with objects2. No special experience or skills are required to participate, as we will adapt to the needs of the participants. The workshop will end with a feedback round where participants will be invited to share their thoughts and proposals. Also, anyone who would like to join The Army of Love is welcome.
www.thearmyoflove.netwww.schiattarella.info

Break 17.00  

Conclusion

17.15

Four participants from the fields of politics, cultural funding and cultural institutions, who have been following the conference, describe their observations and assessments in this closing discussion.

End 18.00  
    Part of m2act: «Kit de Survie en Territoire Masculiniste» aims to seek out survival strategies for women in this space planned and constructed by men. The audio walk is wheelchair accessible.

Programme

Mardi, 21. septembre 2021, Gessnerallee Zürich 

Le format du colloque était mixte (présentiel et distanciel). 

Format Horaire Thème
Ouverture 14.30 Ouverture des portes à la Gessnerallee

Acceuil

15.00

Silvia Steiner, présidente de la Conférence suisse des directeurs cantonaux de l’instruction publique (CDIP)
Kerstin Klauser, Responsable des affaires culturelles, Direction des affaires culturelles et sociales, Fédération des coopératives Migros
Isabella Spirig, responsable de projet danse, Direction des affaires culturelles et sociales, Fédération des coopératives Migros,
Nina Mühlemann, responsable du colloque IntegrART 2021

Lecture Performance

15.30

«Le soi et l’autre sur scène»
Perel (US/DE)

Le travail de Perel questionne la place du handicap dans l’histoire et dans notre mémoire collective ainsi que les dynamiques du pouvoir autour du genre et du consentement. Leur déconstruction permet-elle l’émergence de nouvelles possibilités du vivre-ensemble? À quoi pourraient ressembler les structures de soutien?

Perel présentera des exemples tirés de son travail, questionnant les structures de représentation existantes et les dynamiques du pouvoir, notamment à travers «More Than Just A Piece of Sky» (2014), pièce où tout se tourne autour d’un lit, « (do not) despair solo» et «Pain Threshold» (2016-aujourd’hui), où des membres du public sans handicap sont invités à réaliser des «soins» avec divers degrés d’érotisme et d’intimité, et sa dernière pièce, «Life (Un)Worthy of Life» (2019-aujourd’hui), qui se propose de déconstruire le format du talk-show en invitant le public à mener une discussion sur le validisme historique et l’antisémitisme.    

Pause 16.40  

Panel

17.10

«De quelles structures les artistes en situation de handicap ont-elles et ils besoin pour une réelle inclusion?»
Perspective des artistes: Sophia Neises (DE), Alexandrina Hemsley (UK), Edwin Ramirez (CH), Diana Anselmo (IT)
Perspective des institutions: Michelle Akanji & Inga Laas, Gessnerallee Zürich (CH)

Quatre artistes en situation de handicap discutent de la manière dont elles et ils créent de nouvelles structures dans leur travail et de la façon dont celles-ci peuvent ou ne peuvent pas être conciliées avec les conditions imposées par les institutions culturelles, les institutions de soutien et la politique. De quoi les artistes en situation de handicap ont-elles et ils réellement besoin pour être inclus, quel travail doit être fait dans ce but, et par qui? Et comment créer des structures de travail qui laissent de l’espace pour les expériences intersectorielles? Quel potentiel apparaît lorsque nous nous intéressons à d’autres voix et expériences et que nous nous libérons des structures de pouvoir existantes? 

Pause 18.30  

Performance

20.00

«Sketch of Togetherness»
Lea Moro (CH), Nina Mühlemann (CH)
Avec «Sketch of Togetherness», un travail artistique sera spécialement produit pour le colloque IntegrART. Un-e politicien-ne et un-e artiste en situation de handicap passent une journée ensemble sous l’œil d’une caméra. Le colloque marquera leur seconde rencontre, qui se déroulera en public.

 

Mercredi, 22. septembre 2021, Gessnerallee Zürich

Format Horaire Thème
Ouverture 9.30  
Keynote 10.00

«Utopies compliquées»
Noa Winter (DE) und Alexandrina Hemsley (UK)

La curatrice et activiste Noa Winter et la chorégraphe et écrivaine Alexandrina Hemsley vous invitent à les suivre dans leur exposé IntergrART sur l’espoir, l’amour et la rage inhérents au plaidoyer. Elles dévoileront leurs motivations à créer des espaces dédiés à l’attention, insisteront sur la nécessité, pour les institutions culturelles, d’aller au-delà d’une inclusion et d’une solidarité performatives et sonderont ce qu’elles ressentent dans leur propre corps: un refus et une ouverture.

Elles vous proposent un mélange de poésie, de coups de gueule et des moments de prise de conscience, lorsque le travail devient une charge trop lourde, que l’oppression structurelle épuise, que leurs cœurs se brisent et que travailler comme personne en situation de handicap avec des identités multiples revient à se soumettre aux réalités conçues par les plus puissants.

Comment vivre plus sûrement dans des systèmes qui n’ont pas été conçus par ni pour des personnes en situation de handicap? Les institutions culturelles sont-elles prêtes à prendre conscience que l’attention et la responsabilité sont tout aussi importantes que la représentation?

Pause 11.00  

Panel

11.20

«Propositions d’actions aux responsables politiques»
Artistes (CH): Lulzim Plakoli, Edwin Ramirez, Lua Leirner et politicien-nes: Isabel Garcia (GLP), Islam Alijaj (SP), Modération: Alex Oberholzer

Les structures politiques influencent à de nombreux niveaux l’inclusion et l’art, ainsi que les domaines où ces deux secteurs se rencontrent. Où les artistes en situation de handicap voient-elles et ils des obstacles politiques qui rendent difficile la pratique de leur travail? Où la politique et l’art pourraient-ils unir leurs forces et oser ensemble des avancées co-créatives? Lors de cette table ronde, des artistes et des personnalités politiques en situation de handicap ou non discutent des transformations politiques et des possibilités de créativité inclusive. 

Pause de midi 12.30  

Vortrag

14.00

Comment les artistes en situation de handicap peuvent-elles et ils non seulement survivre, mais aussi prospérer dans un système de financement qui est fondamentalement capacitiste?
Jo Verrent (UK), Unlimited, Rebekka Fässler (Stadt Zürich Kultur)

Jo Verrent est productrice senior pour Unlimited. Unlimited est un programme de soutien à l’art qui vise à intégrer le travail des artistes en situation de handicap dans les secteurs culturels britannique et international, à atteindre de nouveaux publics et à changer la perception des personnes en situation de handicap. En travaillant sur tous les genres, tous les formats, toutes les échelles et tous les publics, Unlimited veut prouver que les compétences et les talents des artistes en situation de handicap sont illimités, et qu’il n’existe aucune partie du secteur culturel dont elles et ils ne devraient pas faire partie. Jo Verrent expliquera comment et pourquoi Unlimited investit et soutient les artistes en situation de handicap. Elle nous expliquera pourquoi un changement systémique radical de tout le secteur de la promotion est la seule option durable pour une véritable équité et égalité des chances. Lorsque des personnes en situation de handicap sont aux commandes, obtenir un financement sur la base des caractéristiques esthétiques de l’art, plutôt qu’en utilisant le modèle négatif de la charité et de la pitié, peut représenter un défi, mais ce défi est fondamental. Le soutien qui repose sur les déficits peut non seulement renforcer les attitudes dominantes selon lesquelles le handicap est un déficit, ce qui est faux, mais également nuire au secteur dans son entier en niant ce qu’apportent de positif les artistes en situation de handicap pour le développement des formes d’art, l’élargissement du public, et bien d’autres choses encore. Comment cette attitude peut-elle être inversée?

Après son intervention, Jo Verrent, s’entretiendra avec Rebekka Fässler.

Pause 14.45  

Ateliers

15.00

Divers ateliers invitent les participant-es au colloque à expérimenter activement le thème «Repenser les structures»

Atelier 1: Tanja Erhart / Katharina Senk (AT) «Sens et sensualités dans la collaboration numérique» / NUMERIQUE

Tanja Erhart et Katharina Senk vous invitent à un atelier numérique où vous pourrez découvrir leur approche artistique des thèmes de la collaboration numérique, de l’access & care et du multilinguisme. Comment le fait de travailler ensemble par écran interposé peut-il nous offrir de nouvelles et différentes manières de nous voir, de nous écouter, de nous percevoir et de communiquer les un·e·s avec les autres? Leurs travaux multisensoriels les mènent à explorer les sens et la sensualité comme des outils leur donnant accès à l’autre et transformant leurs confrontations avec le monde qui a tendance à discriminer les gens sur la base de leurs capacités physiques.
Dans le cadre de cet atelier, Tanja Erhart et Katharina Senk partageront des exemples issus de leur collaboration intersectionnelle et, avec les participant·es, elles se plongeront dans des exercices interactifs issus de leur pratique. L’atelier se déroulera en anglais et en allemand. 


Atelier 2: Dalibor Sandor / Sasa Asentic (SRB): «Bienvenue dans le(s) monde(s) des monstres» / NUMERIQUE

Qu’est-ce qui fait un monstre? Ou qui est un monstre? Quels types de monstres existent autour de nous?
L’atelier sera basé sur des discussions, des mouvements et des exercices d’imagination issus des expériences de Dalibor Šandors et de sa motivation à réaliser ses performances: We are not monsters et Something very special.
Dalibor Šandor sera accompagné de son ami, collègue et camarade de longue date, Saša Asenti?. Cet atelier se déroulera en anglais.


Atelier 3: Islam Alijaj / Lea Moro (CH) «Initier des rencontres» / SUR PLACE

Islam Alijai et Lea Moro co-animent cet atelier sur la base du projet Sketch of Togetherness. Nous y explorerons les possibilités de faire connaissance et de se rencontrer pour deux personnes qui ne se connaissent pas, mais aussi pour un groupe temporaire réuni pour un atelier. Chaque rencontre déplace la perspective vers des réalités de vie et de quotidien, des univers professionnels, des parcours de vie individuels ou encore des contextes culturels, politiques et sociaux différents. Enfin, chaque rencontre avec une personne inconnue ouvre aussi de nouvelles perspectives sur soi-même, car elle soulève toujours des questions sur sa propre réalité de vie. Cet atelier vise à faciliter les perspectives de rencontre, de discussion et de mouvement avec l’autre de façon curieuse, ouverte, ludique et créative.
Atelier en allemand, avec traduction en langue de signe suisse-allemand.


Atelier 4: Alessandro Schiattarella / Alice Giuliani (IT): «Army of Love» / SUR PLACE

Repenser les structures est un vaste sujet, nous en sommes conscients. Pour l’aborder dans le cadre d’IntegrART, The Army of Love1 désire prendre la perspective de la micro-conscience: quelles structures régissant nos gestes et mouvements, notre langage et nos interactions avec autrui sombrent dans une zone grise de par leur répétition quotidienne? Comment affûter le spectre de notre attention et désautomatiser notre vie de tous les jours pour détecter les schémas cachés? Repenser les structures implique en outre un besoin de flexibilité: que nous faut-il pour éviter de rigidifier nos articulations, nos pensées et nos interactions? L’atelier débutera par une série d’exercices ludiques, effectués individuellement ou à deux, qui se développeront graduellement jusqu’à l’inclusion de tout un groupe. Le respect des mesures sanitaires actuelles est garanti dans toutes les phases de l’atelier. Dans notre répertoire, nous recourons souvent à la parole, au mouvement, au contact physique ainsi qu’à l’interaction avec des objets2. Aucune expérience ni connaissance particulière n’est requise, car nous adaptons l’atelier aux besoins des participant-es. Nous terminerons par une ronde de feed-back, permettant ainsi aux participant-es de partager leurs réflexions et suggestions. The Army of Love est en outre ravie d’accueillir toute personne désireuse de se joindre au groupe. www.thearmyoflove.netwww.schiattarella.info

Pause 17.00  

Clôture

17.15

Quatre participant·es issus des domaines de la politique, de la promotion culturelle et des institutions culturelles ayant suivi la conférence, feront part de leurs observations et évaluations dans cette discussion finale.

Fin 18.00  
  19.00 Dans le cadre de m2act: «Kit de Survie en Territoire Masculiniste» explore des stratégies de survie pour les femmes dans cet espace conçu et construit par les hommes. La ballade est accessible pour des personnes en chaise roulante